A Boutique with a Cause <3

Happy Thursday everyone!

Today I have something a little different I am going to share with you, something I have always been passionate about and a strong advocate for. This is mental health.

Having good mental health is extremely important for a number of reasons, it can affect your physical health, relationships, your career, and the list goes on. From a young age I have always known my goal in life was to help others. Taking care of those around me was so important to me and I always felt so good knowing others were happy and comfortable.

My first psychology course made me realize I was extremely fascinated in the brain and behavior of others. Once I began learning about mental illness, chemical imbalances in the brain, and the science behind behavior, I was hooked. I knew psychology was the way to go. During my undergrad, I continued on the psyc track and added a few mental health courses for electives. I decided I wanted expand my knowledge on the science and correlation between the human brain and behavior. Understanding people, what makes them tick, and why some people act the way they do is extremely intriguing. I will be extending my education by pursuing my graduate degree so that I can provide therapy to those in need of help (emotional support, life coaching, diagnosing a mental illness, or just someone to talk to).

Recently, back in February, I started this blog and wanted to create a fashion centered platform that I could slowly add my passion for mental health and inspiration to. I was not sure just how I would go about doing this because these are totally different realms of interest, so I figured maybe fashion blogging could be a hobby of mine.

Here is when it all changed;

Brit Rose Boutique was at first a cute clothing store I stumbled upon online. I saw they had my style of clothing and I figured I could help them grow as a small business. When I went on to look at their website, I found out they were based upon a larger foundation. This was a boutique with a cause.

Brit Rose was the daughter of the owner of the boutique who dealt with mental illness and online bullying. She unfortunately is no longer with us due to the horrible affects mental illness and bullying brought upon her.

Her mother is a positive spirit with a strong heart who wanted to bring awareness to the world of suicide, mental illness, and bullying. She runs this amazing non profit organization to help those who struggle with these issues by raising the needed funds and bringing awareness to society. 

**I recently have experienced cyber bullying myself, and felt as if I had been called to share this incredible organization and help this shop with a cause grow so that others can understand more about the importance of mental health and affects that online bullying can have on others.**

By shopping at Brit Rose, you are helping families in need of support that cannot afford the proper help or treatment, while providing education to those who do not know about mental illness and the dangers of bullying and affects that it can have on others. 

Here are some pictures from my first photoshoot with Brit Rose in one of my favorite off the shoulders tops ❤

SONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

You can find this top here! There are two colors to choose from.

Brit Rose has pages and pages of clothing to choose from, all different styles! Please don’t hesitate to check this amazing store out, it will definitely be worth it and feel good knowing you are helping someone in need. ❤

Enjoy the rest of your week,

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 12.44.18 PM

21 thoughts on “A Boutique with a Cause <3

  1. Wow you look so gorgeous babe! And that seriously makes me so sad to hear that you have dealt with Cyber bullying. That is absolutely terrible. You are such a beautiful person, on the inside and out!
    What a great boutique. Not only is it adorable, but I LOVE their mission. One of my favorite posts from you babe.

    Have a great week!
    xo,
    Kelly Hoover | http://www.theglamorousteacher.com

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Kelly! Yes it’s been stressful but I haven’t let it get me down too much! I’m just trying to rise above the hatred and immaturity. It is such an amazing boutique with a beautiful cause ❤

      Like

  2. Wow this seriously brought tears to my eyes. What an amazing company. Its so amazing to see them turn this situation into helping others.
    I’m so proud to know you, Mackenzie. You are such a shining light and have thee most beautiful soul. You are going to do so much good in this world! 💗💗💗love you girl!

    Like

    1. Thank you Holly you are seriously the sweetest and have been more than supportive through everything! I’m so thankful to know someone like you! Brit Rose is amazing I couldn’t agree more!! ❤

      Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this!! Mental health is such an important thing and we need to talk about it and help others rather than turning a blind eye to their cries for help. Love the top too!xo

    Like

  4. Thank you so much for sharing, Mackenzie! We need to end the stigma surrounding mental health, and by simply talking about topics like this, and raising awareness, you are making all of the difference ❤️

    Like

  5. Cyber bullying is so wrong. Thank you for sharing your story and wanting to help others. Brit Rose sounds like a shop witt an amazing mission. I can’t wait to support them.

    Like

  6. As someone who survived bullying and suicide, I’m really glad you’re talking about this. Enjoyed reading the post, love the off shoulder top (as usual), and love the cause of the clothing brand. Thanks for sharing Mackenzie. Keep shining girl ❤

    Like

    1. I am so sorry to hear you have gone through a similar situation Gena, that breaks my heart. I hope that we can continue to help support one another and I couldn’t be more thankful to have met you through blogging ❤

      Like

  7. Love, love, love this post!! Thank you for not only sharing your story, but the story of others as well! Keep being the sweet positive babe you are! Also, that top is the absolute cutest! Xoxo 💗

    Like

  8. I love this. The message is amazing. Thanks for sharing! I will definitely be looking at this shop soon 🤗 Also you look beautiful in this top! It’s so cute and you’ve inspired me to wear off shoulder stuff.

    Like

  9. That is great you are furthering your education to help others…. You will be such a light to some many!!! Thank you so much for sharing your story.
    Can’t wait to check out the store who wouldn’t want to support a store like that!! BTW Love your top and where are your shoes from?!?

    Like

    1. Thank you Megan, I really appreciate it! I hope I can help others that is my biggest goal in life.
      I got them from a boutique called Runway Seven but I don’t think they carry them anymore. Target has really similar ones I am pretty sure!! ❤

      Like

  10. Love this top girl.
    Ps. I hope you don’t mind me leaving this here, I wanted to take the opportunity to recognize you with The Blogger Recognition Award on my blog. Check it out if you have a chance.
    Xx, Nailil

    Like

Leave a comment